Wednesday, May 03, 2006

James Tait Black Shortlist Announced

Founded in 1919, the James Tait Black Memorial Prizes are Scotland's most prestigious, and the U.K.'s oldest, literary awards and reward excellence biography and fiction. The books are selected by staff and students of Edinburgh University. The 2006 shortlists were released on 30th May and the winners will announced in June.

Here's the fiction list:
  • Praying Mantis Andre Brink
  • Never Let Me Go Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Beasts of No Nation Uzodinma Iweala
  • Saturday Ian McEwan,
  • Mother, Missing Joyce Carol Oates
  • The Accidental Ali Smith
You can read about all these titles and check out past years' winners at the Award Annals website.


Anonymous said...

How about that, yet another award.

bibliobibuli said...

too many ... i tell you ... lists lists lists and only the ocassional scandal to break the monotony

too many gotta read books ... too little time